Innovative Marine Aquariums

New 12 channel, dawn/dusk LED control board

MicroMan

I am an engineer by day and a fellow aquarist and herp enthusiast at night. I am always looking for new ways to create natural biomes for my home and designing innovative electronics to support this hobby is my passion. My twenty years of digital engineering design experience as well as my connection with fish, herps and botany since childhood and during my college years fuels this passion.

Soon after deciding to build a planted tank, a reef tank and a poison arrow frog biome, my latest electronic project started when I became unsatisfied with currently available LED control options. I quickly realized that this controller may be something that other enthusiasts would also be interested in and at an affordable price (hundreds rather than thousand of dollars) so I decided to post to this forum to let DIY folks know about it.

I am new to this forum, so please allow me to briefly tell you about what it is and how it works.

My design is a fully programmable, 4” x 6”, 12 channel, micro-controlled LED control board with a USB connection. Each of the twelve channels can support up to 6 high –power (3W) LEDs for a possible total of 72 LEDs and can be hardware programmed to support a constant current from 100mA to 1A. Each channel can be manually set for an intensity value from 0% to 100% of full intensity in 1/10 percent increments (0 to 1000). Up to 4 photo periods in a 24 hour day can also be assigned to each channel. Put simply, in automatic mode, these 4 photo periods replicate morning, mid-day, evening and night. For each period, the micro-controller firmware automatically controls the increase/decrease transitions for each LED channel creating a very smooth dawn to dusk effect. This can also be used to control a designated moonlight channel. For larger installations, several controllers can be used to cover full lighting requirements.