Innovative Marine Aquariums

How bad is TDS 38 ?

nystang

I got an RO/DI unit and a TDS meter so I am measuring everything now. It shows that my tap water is 38ppm. How bad or good is it? The waste water from RO/DI unit shows 53ppm. I'm new to all TDS/RODI thing so I'm pretty excited. Until today I used distilled water for my tank but this is history. The RO/DI unit is not new but I got it for free and it is slightly used. The RODI water shows 0ppm.

Amphiprion1

That's very good. Mine runs roughly 40 ppm and my filters last a good, long time. My membrane is going on 5 years and I still get 0 TDS out of it before it ever gets to the DI resin.

I got an RO/DI unit and a TDS meter so I am measuring everything now. It shows that my tap water is 38ppm. How bad or good is it? The waste water from RO/DI unit shows 53ppm. I'm new to all TDS/RODI thing so I'm pretty excited. Until today I used distilled water for my tank but this is history. The RO/DI unit is not new but I got it for free and it is slightly used. The RODI water shows 0ppm.

The TDS reading in your tap water is excellent. The only problem is that you don't know what the dissolved solids are.

The TDS of my tap water here in Calgary is in the 280s. My ro/di gives me 0.

The distilled water is 0 as well. I just returned from a friend of mine who lives in the same neighborhood and (of course) i measured his tap water. It was the same as mine. He also has a Brita filter on his faucet. The water after Brita read 17ppm, although it was used for some time. Interesting.

AZDesertRat

NY has low TDS but extremely high suspended solids (TSS), so much so the EPA is suing the water utilities and charging them daily fines until treatment plants are constructed and in operation to bring the levels within US EPA guidelines.