Cultivated Reef

Fluval Chi Nano Reef?

Steventomas

Steventomas

First off thank you for reading my post and i'd like to apologize in advance for any stupid questions i'm going to ask.

So here is my situation:

I have been keeping freshwater aquariums for a few years now and have done pretty well with them. Recently i had to move and sold off my freshwater things except for a few items. Now that i am in a permanent location i would like to venture into saltwater. Because i am new to sw i dont want to spend $1000 and have it blow up in my face. So i have been researching to get ideas for what i need to know.

I want to start off without corals to simplify things, if possible.

I have two tanks that i am interested in doing salt water, the first and most preferred is my 5g Fluval Chi, i understand that i will have to modify the lighting and get a different mechanical filter. I have a 50w heater for it.

The other tank i have is a 20g tall tank with a standard hood with an 18" Marineland Natural Daylight (F15T8/18"). It has a 20 gallon mechanical filter and a 150w heater that i have set to keep the tank at about 76 degrees.

What would be less of an investment for me as my first tank? Eventually after i have successfully kept a sw tank i would like to do both

From my research so far here are the things i would need to purchase in no specific order:

Aprox. 1.25 pounds of live rock per gallon

Aprox. 2 pounds of live sand per gallon

Marina Slim Mechanical Filter rated for 20gallons

Instant Ocean Salt Mix

Hydrometer

Alot of distilled water

A 96gph Powerhead

Master Reef test kit

I know i am probably missing a few things that i had on my mental list, but please feel free to let me know on other things that i will be needing.

As far as livestock i would like to have a ocelllaris clown after the tank is cycled and such.

thanks for taking the time to read this and please let me know what you guys think.

Grumblecakes