Cultivated Reef

white spots on clownfish

GEAS

I'm a newbie on nano although I have years of experience with freshwater. My clownfish has white spots all over and I know it is infected with something... just don't know what it is. It's like ITCH on freshwater but I can't give them methyline blue because it might kill them... You guys are veterans with nano. I would like to know the name of the disease so I could 'research' more about it and what medications should I give my fishes?

I only got 2 plate corals, 2 anemone and 4 little clownfishes on a 15g. Don't you think I am overcrowding them? Honestly, I think there still alot of space left for more but since I am a newbie, I'd like to know the views of maestros before I add more...

Thanks in advance!

just describing it as dots doesn't help too much...It could be several things..Most likely though it is a case of ich. Ich isn't a real big deal so don't worry about it. If you had some cleaner shrimp they can remove and eat most of the ich parasites off the fish. Garlic supplements to their food can help. Also a recent product has come out that is completely reef safe and will remove parasites, but haven't had any actual experience with it. I also think melafix should help the ich problem.

Your tank is way over crowded. in fact more than 2 clowns is pushing it. Remember the fish will grow...give them the space. You have anemones. how long have you had them and how much light do you have over the tank?

What you're describing sounds like ich.. I personally would remove two of the clowns as four definitely is way to many.

It looks like ICH all right... My fw fishes had them once and I gave them Methyline Blue... do you guys think it's OK if I give them some? BTW, two of them already died and I guess if I dont get rid of those parasites the other two might also die. I also dont have any shrimps. Can't find any petshop that sells them... Actually, there are only half a dozen saltwater petshops here in Manila.