Top Shelf Aquatics

New to Fragging

justjoshinya

justjoshinya

so i just finished my frag rack from egg crate and it came out better than i was hoping!!! and i just tried my hand at fragging some zoanthid polyps i fragged two eagle eye single polyps on plugs and a radioactive green zoa polyp that has two smaller baby polyps on it. all are open and enjoying the new plugs :) these are not rare zoas and the frags will do me no good other than just using them for practice.

next i will try and frag my millipora acropora chalice and sunset monti. i did have a quick question about fragging the sunset monti its a LE Tyree Sunset monti, and i just want to know in theory if i just snip off a little piece that only has a single tiny polyp on it will it survive and grow?? or do i need to frag a larger piece containing several polyps??

thanks for the advice im new to all this.

-Josh

altolamprologus

There are people who frag single polyps but the bigger the frag the better. Tiny frags have a poor survival rate and are likely to RTN on you. They will also most likely die if transported before being allowed to grow out. Corals grow in proportion to their current size so if you make tiny frags, you will have to wait a very long time before selling or trading them. It's always more efficient to make the biggest frags possible. An inch is the smallest I would do for sps

justjoshinya

:( awe the frag itself is only about 1.5"x1.5" but its growing well and there is a tiny outcropping that is reaching for the base rock that i was gonna cut off it has a single polyp on it, but the frag itself has like a TON of polyps on it probably 60 or so it looks completely green because of the polyps. i guess i will wait for it to grow more... but i may get impatient and just try it anyway. im not trying to sell frags or even trade them just trying to practice fragging and kinda fill out my tank more without spending heaps more money.

thanks for the advice!!!

altolamprologus