SaltCritters.com

10 Gallon DIY Lighting

bjk

I am new to Nanos, and this website. I was wondering how I could make a 10 gallong coral friendly lighting setup for under $75? how many watts will i need for beginner corals? I am pretty good at building stuff, so i figure it would be cheaper if i just built something. would it be better to stay with compact fluorescents?

are halogen lights good for corals?

Any diy examples and pictures would be great, thanks again

80 watts at a minimum.

You can find 75 watt full spectrum DIY light kits for sale on the net, or at places like www.hellolights.com.

A combination of 20 watt NO tubes, 40 watt HO or 80 watt VHO tubes in 24" lengths should also be do-able. You can find endcaps, wire and ballasts on the net or at the chain hardware stores like Lowes and Home Depot and make your own custom hood. Coralife also sells inexpensive compact florescent hoods (all complete with fans, splashguards, reflectors) in your pricerange.

Compact florescent retrofit kits (or VHO retro kits) are another option, everything you need except a hood to screw it underneath. Just keep surfing around in the sponsors section of the website and you'll come across lots of options.

thanks Aiptasia, i am searching all over the net, and i do have a 20" regular striplight, so a retro fit is a good idea, except you only seem to be able to fit 2-13 watt cf in a standard hood.

Just make sure the retrofit will fit within the striplight housing and you should be o.k.. Ballasts are usually remote, which means you can put the ballast in a veltilated project box a few feet away from the tank (or under it).

I really like the coralife PC hoods, and places like www.drsfostersmith.com and www.thatfishplace.com carry them at reduced prices.

www.exoticfish.com also has custom made ABS plastic PC lights at great prices and retro kits.

Just keep surfing. You'll find what you need.