ReefCleaners.org

JBJ 24 vs 28

j.snow

I'm just beginning to get up and running with my new hobby and getting excited. I've settled on a JBJ AIO system, I just cant seem to decide whether to get a 24 or 28g system.

I found a 24g for $130 and the cheapest 28g I could find was $200-250. What are the major differences in the 24 and 28? Is it worth it for the 4 extra gallons to pay $100 more?

I just installed a JBJ 24 and love it, but had I had the footprint room for a 28, it would have been my choice. There is no appreciable difference in them other than volume. As a new hobbyist, if you get hooked you will soon be thinking about going bigger...might as well get the largest you're comfortable with now. That extra volume also will help some as you learn to stabilize water parameters. It sounds like cost is a strong decision point for you. Be aware that as you move forward, $100 dollars is VERY minor compared to what you are likey to end up spending. You'll probably kill at least that much as you learn the do's and dont's. That 4 gals is forever, many coral and fish certainly are not.

Enjoy your new hobby.

• 3 weeks later...

I have a 28g NanoCube and IMO, the difference in size does matter. It's almost a 20% increase in size. This is important as having a nano requires you to maintain parameters very closely, as the size of the tank has little water volume in contrast to regular sized tanks and therefore can suffer dramatic swings in water conditions quicker.