Innovative Marine Aquariums

What is the best fish to feed a lion and tang?

cirionrc

I went to multiple fish stores and they all say different things. Lately I have been feeding him minnows and heard they were not nutritious enough. Same brine shrimp. Then I was told to feed it shrimp from the grocery store. Just bobb a little piece around and he will eat it. Well, the lion has absolutely no interest in eating albertson's shrimp. What about guppies? Silversides? The only stores close by are petco, petsmart. Oh and just got a yellow tang. Once again, was told to put romaine lettuce in the tank, yet the tang has no interest. Do tangs eat flakes, lettuce or what. I have flakes, freeze dries brine shrimp, frozen brine shrimp, bloodworms, and freeze dries krill.

I have no experience with lion fish. but for yellow tang feed it with nori(dry seaweed) which you can find it any asian market. Just make sure nori is not seasoned. How long you have those fish? It usually takes couple days to a week before the settle down. HTH

do a web search on feeding lions alternative foods. They can be trained to eat frozen foods, or freezdried foods like krill. You don't want to feed a saltwater fish a freshwater whole prey item. Unfortunatley there are all sorts of nutritional problems that will happen, probably the most common is a fatty liver. Lionfish are very intelligent, and may need to be coaxed into trying the new food by some selective feeding for a few days...in other words, don't feed the lion for a few days and when he's hungry he'll be more inclined to sample. Many people use a skewer to move the shrimp in front of the lion and make it seem more appealing.

For the Tang, Reef93 is right on. My yellow tang loves nori...also my other fish (clown, neon goby) love it.