SaltCritters.com

70W MH questions

CodeToad

I have been planning and learning about the 70W MH setup some of you have been using.

I notice many people drilling holes in their Regent fixtures, dosen't this let UV rays leak out?

Also how hot can you run these lights? Would it ruin it to have it in a small enclosed area with no ventelation? If it will ruin the bulb to do so, I was going to add a small cooling fan, but again wouldn't this let UV rays leak out that are harmful to you and your tank?

i'm a bit of a newb but FWIW i just did this for a 12 gal nanocube that i popped the hood off of about a month ago. the regent fixtures mostly come vented nowadays and the heat is not that much of an issue. i have mine just 5 inches from the water surface and temps are just fine (78-82) though evaporation is faster. i not sure what you mean by enclosed area. i wouldn't have this in a closed hood as i'm sure this will be an issue. for the summer, i might add an external fan blowing across the water surface but i'll see. uv leak isn't an issue because it comes with a reflector and glass to filter the light. the fixture case is pretty tough metal so adding a fan will be hard to do.

if i had to do it again though, i would go 150w with a higher k bulb than 10k. what i have now is ok for greyish leathers and stuff but for bright colored zoos and what not, my guess is you'd be better off with the 150.

HTH and good luck!

I have a 70w metal halide in a regent fixture. I did not drill any ventilation holes, nor do I want to. The fixture itself is made to tolerate very high temperatures (halogen bulbs are HOT), so the metal halide is no problem in it (even with rustoleum high heat paint on the fixture). I cool the outside of the fixture by means of computer fans. Metal halide bulbs have a much longer service life if they are allowed to burn hot.

HTH

-q

matt the fiddler

"UV rays leak out?"

your only worrys shoudl be

1- direct light form the bulb [DE] hitting coral