SaltCritters.com

10g lighting - money to spend

Quash

I have currently the corallife 28W 50/50 aqualight. Now I would like to upgrade my lights. So I have 150 bux to spend. I wanna get some good lights. Im a complete noob at lighting. What would you guys recommend. I've been reading alot on lighting setups, and lots of people have the 70W MH setup plus actinic setup. Will 150 bux cover this? Or what lighting should I get/build whatever. Im still reading on the forums now, so I thought I would start a thread.

AReeferIsExpensive

well with 150 bux i dont see you getting really far with MH...

the bulbs are under 100, then you need the ballast and pendant, plus s&h, then replacment bulbs, sounds over 150!

Unless you find some good deals that i dont know about, i think that the best u could prob go for is a 96w 50/50 PC...coralife or quad. They are normally around 90-150 depending on where you live and get it from. id also highly suggest getting light legs with it, because on my 10 gallon w/ the coralife 96 i was having heat issues.....

Hey,

I have the coralife 96 watt hood for sale on this board for $80 shipped to the US! Let me know if you are interested... There is a pic in the for sale section. look up my name and you'll find it..

ReeferMonkey

LampDr sells 70w MH kits for $140. I think he's out of bulbs right now but I know he has ballasts and sockets. You can get bulbs from a couple of different places (online vendors) or from local reefers. If you don't want the Ushio 10k anyway, it shouldn't be a problem.

I ordered one from Jorge but haven't had the chance to set it up. The wiring job is excellent and the components are all high-quality. Since you have a 28w PC you can just buy an actinic 03 from somewhere (supposedly Hello Lights has the best) and pick up a 7" PC reflector for the halide, and you're set.