inTank Media Baskets

Guide to DIY underwater LED x 2 refugium light for pico tanks

djfrankn

Hi everyone. I am very new to nano-reef. I have been reefing for almost 5 yrs. now and before I had fresh water tanks since I was 11.

After being with our current 75 gallons reef for a year now (formerly was a 55) I decided to step into a new challenge, a pico tank.

I was looking around for picos, models, specs, prices. Suddenly, last Sunday (January 9th, 2012) I was looking around at my local PETCO here in Naples, FL. It is when I saw this tiny Evolve tanks made by Aqueon. I thought it was what I was looking for since I do not plan to keep any sps in a pico and all the specs on the box were almost everything I was in search of.

I bought it with no doubt. So I bought with it a bag of fine sand PETCO brand as a substrate and headed home. When we arrived, I was like a little child with a new toy, went straight to open the box and look at its components. Here is my thread for the current pico evolution:

djfrankn's Aqueon Evolve 2

As any system, not everything comes as desired. So I am a strong supporter of having refugiums in sw tanks. The only problem with my tank was that until now no one has designed a refugium for it. But, most important, my major concern was having a light to support the macro alga in it. I thought of something hang on back what that would defeat the aesthetics of the tank (that is my personal opinion). So I researched while checking temperature fluctuations for the first 3 days including evaporation rate with the stock pump and led light fixture. My first thought is that if I want a submersible 10 watt halogen light that may increase my water temps. Although, that is what most people with biocubes use. Then I thought of the fact that there is no biocube made small enough to store 2 gallons +/- of water (take off some of it when you introduce sand and LR).