Innovative Marine Aquariums

Growing Corraline...

nautilusreef

nautilusreef

This might be a really dumb question, Im a newbie sorta, and have a 10 FOWLR currently and just bought some dead rock at a LFS, I mean man it has zero life on it, I had a few good peices from the same store with some nice purple algae on it (CORRALINE) and I want it to spread around the tank and even on the new dead rock..

I have seen other tanks and the stuff is growing on everything including the PVC... What is the secret to growing corraline?

Lots of light, Kalkwasser,..... what.... what really stimulates it's growth?? All water quality being decent is there an additive one can add to the water to make it grow?

Any comments or tips to growing it like mad would be appreciated..

My experience is that Coraline will grow as long as you keep your Alkalinity and Calcium ( and Magnesium ) levels high. You don't need much else as is will come with patience.

Try to keep it simple and get those parameters at a maximum and you will soon have more Coraline than you can handle.

John

Reefer_Buddha

you have to introduce coralline into the system first. Either on a frag or live rock. Coralline grows best when calcium levels are optimal and they seem to do better under NO or PC fluoresents. Metal Halide usually bleaches it off.

high levels of calcium and patience are the way. ive had good results at jumpstarting the growth with mark weiss's reef vital dna but can be pricey i got like 8 ounces for 20$. well worth it though. ive heard that kents liquid reactor works well also its cheaper. but ive not seen results. mostly its patience thats the name of the game in reefs. good luck

mineralrock