Innovative Marine Aquariums

Question about MH on a 46 gallon bowfront

tackman

Do these lights look ok for a 46 gallon bowfront?

I'm new to this game and want a light source that would support a variety of life.

2 175w METAL HALIDE RETROFIT & BULBS NEW

I priced the stuff and I don't think I can build it for that price.

On HelloLights, I come up with $226 without reflectors or wiring.

Anyone see a problem? Any advice is appreciated.

I dont see why not but the determining factor is the hood. Plastic, wood, metal? and cooling, possibly some UV protection.

just my .02

I was going to look for either something I can use as a pendant ( Some Regent Flood light ) or build a pendant out of wood to house both lights.

Thats the best I could come up with... any suggestions?

A good friend of mine has a 46gal bowfront. He refuses to admit that his coralife light just isn't cutting it. We took out his 400w Metal Halide lamp (6500K!) and just set it above the tank, and WOW! You will be quite pleased by the look of good metal halides in the 46bow.

Good luck, and keep us posted. Incidentally, for your pendant design keep in mind that metal halide bulbs are more efficient and last longer when they burn *HOT*. Don't ventilate where the bulbs are, just be sure that the heat that the bulbs generate doesn't affect the tank too much (hood is hung ~6-9" above the tank).

hth

-q

Great! Thanks for the tip about the heat. I thought poeple were always worried about them getting too hot. I was going to put them around 10" to 12" above.

This kit includes Advance M57 magnetic ballasts. I know they are going to hum.... but can anyone give me an idea of how loud they will be?

Not sure how loud the ballasts will get, but to help control the noise:

1. Remote the ballasts in an enclosure (metal, wood, whatever works. just ventilate it!)