Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Lots Of Algae

NYCITYDAVE

I have been getting alot of algae on my rocks. Green algae. I clean it every two weeks but it keeps growing back and in enormous amounts. I take the rocks out of the tank and put them in a bucket. Then i scrape it off with a brush but it seems to be getting worse. I just changed to a coralife light 90W. I dont know if it will affect the growth but what else can i do to eliminate this algae. I have about 6 turbo snails which dont seem to go near it and about 2 hermit crabs. Please help. Thanks

I have been doing alot of reading about algae in the past couple of days (but I'm still a newb) so let one of the more experienced people chime in...how big is the tank?

My cycle is just finishing up and these things have started to pop up a little:

whatisit.jpg

is this what you have or is it hair algae? These are button algae and are bad. If you pop the top they release spores...and spread...

I personally am planning on buying an emerald and about 10 little scarlet crabs sometime soon to get the cleanup started. I have hair algae as well, and my reading has lead me to these 2 choices. I won't do any snails until my params are in perfect order (hopefully a couple of short weeks)..Depending on the size of your tank, you may need a much larger crew...but I'm new so take this with a grain of salt!! ;)