Pod Your Reef

Need info on my Tank and my possible setup.

kimura

I just bought a 12 gal Jalli bow front tank from LFS. It came with a 36w PC 50/50 setup. I was wondering if anyone knew what is the output of this bulb?

My plans are to get 1-1.5 lbs of argonite LS and 1 lbs of LR (not too sure what to get, don't know much about LR). I'm debating on getting the Skilter 250 or an Aquaclear mini for the filtration (only using a foam block inside). Sorry, I know this is long....

I would like to get some LPS's and some soft corals that I saw a website http://www.acmereef.com/ but I'm not too sure how much I can put (any suggestions?). Oh...and instead of a hang on the back, I was thinking of just making a divider wall on the back of the tank inside, and just adding some miracle mud w/ caluerpa. Oh would caluerpa be bad inside of the tank?

I don't know if this sounds too much. I'm new to this and I'm trying to read as many post and articles as possible. You guys have really great tanks, and I really admire the amount of dedication you all have placed on them, and the amount of help you can give to newbies like myself.

Thanks!

I would suggest getting an aquaclear 500 for filter/refugium and as well as hosting 50w heater. 36w pc for 12gal probably good enought for softies. If you want to keep LPS you may consider adding another 36w. HTH

i think 36 watts is enough for some lps in a 12. i aggree, use an AC 500 for a hang on refugium type thing. it will allow you more in-tank realastate and add to the total tank volume. plus it gives you an extra source of flow and current.

don't get the skilter. i have one skilter 250 and three prizms. the skilter's afraid to show its face.

that's sufficient light for softies but i would say a little light for lps. the others may split on that.