Coral Vue Hydros

JBJ nano Retrofit Help

xcajx

Hi, this is my first post and so far I have learned much. I have my 1st SW tank set up for 2 days now waiting for the LR to cycle etc.

I have noted many comments about retrofitting the hood as the lighting may not be up to par.

I have searched and searched for info on how to do the retrofit and cannot find anything useful.

Could you point me in the right direction.

I want to swap the 24W standard out of there and put in the bestlighting i can withought having to bend the reflector or do anything crazy.

Makes sense?

Thanks in advance,

Chris

I love it so far, just bought mine today. It should be in next week. I'm interested in a retro too, most threads I've read recommend it, But I'm just as clueless as you on how to go about it.

Good Luck!

I will let you know as I just ordered the 32 csl retrokit. I will document what I did with pics for you...I am new to this as well so we may as well learn together.

i had to use marinedepot.com b/c they ###### to canada, if yer in the states use the drsmith? one. Hunt around here the site is names several times. I paid 50 there's is 40.

it cost me $23 ea for coralife 28w pc's (1 03 and 1 10k), and $17 for the electronic ballast at home depot (which it will run a total of 5 bulbs when wired correctly). i originally put 3 bulbs in, but the heat was too high and too hard to control. i found a real simple and cheap solution for that too...go to a target store or wal mart and buy a 6" clamp fan and run it on low or high depending on the temp you wish to keep the tank...you just clamp it about 2' away and that's all...if you click on the next link, you will find more pictures and info on what i did as well as what the tank has looked like. it is definately the way i like it most now...

http://www.nano-reef.com/forums/search.php...searchid=342085