ReefCleaners.org

new Via aqua 10 gal

exlfsemployee

exlfsemployee

I am new to the forum and new to the hobby. this is my first attempt at salt water. I have 5 FW tanks, mainly africans. Here is my set up.

-via aqua 10 gal.

-crappy stock 13 w lights

-7 lbs of LR so far.

-6 lbs of live sand

-1 lemon damsel

-4 red legs

-2 astrea snails

-I have the stock filter system and a penguin 125 hob.

-201 power head

does this sound ok?

can anyone point me in the right direction as far as lighting goes, I would like to stay away from DIY projects as I am in a dorm room and dont really have the materials nor space available to me to do any DIYs?

thanks in advance

ps: the tank was set up valentines day.

I have the 6g Via Aqua and a 18g Via Aqua. Tonight I just moved everything to the 18. Ok, since the 10 is the same as the 6g with a little more water volume here is what I found. To upgrade the lights you will need to DIY. Hellolights has some really nice DIY that fit the hood. You need a few more punds of LR, have at least a 2" depth of LS.

http://www.hellolights.com/14nanretkit.html

That is the link for the light kit that fit mine. Make sure you measure yours before ordering :)

Have fun they are nice little tanks.

exlfsemployee

Troy, I was wondering if I could use JBJ desktop PC lights, or coralife mini compact? I believe that the Coralife light is 2 X 9w and I am not exactly sure what the wattage is on the JBJ desktop PC. I would really like to stay away from the DIY as I said early but it does look as though that is all I will have availble to me. Thanks for the reply

If you can find a fixture that will fit on the tank without any DIY then I would purchase it, if that is what you want.

Oh if it is one thing I have learned with these Via Aquas, a 12" HOB refugium fits perfectly on these. If I was starting over on the 6g I have I would buy one of those and use it as my filter/algea scrubber.