Coral Vue Hydros

New 10 gallon setup

schaferfred

schaferfred

I am new to nano reefs but have been reading up on this subject ALOT. I have had FOWLR tanks before but never took on the endeavor of a reef system. Does this following setup look okay or does anyone have any suggestions?

-10 gallon tank

-Aquaclear 150 w/foam block and chemipure

-Power Sweep 214 (160 gph) powerhead for current

-Ebo Jager 50 watt heater

-Current USA Orbit lighting system (has 1 - 40w 10000K light, 1 - 40w acitinic light and a moonlight

I plan to add about 12 lbs. of live rock and 12 lbs. of live sand as well. I did not have a skimmer on my list because I plan to do weekly 1 gallon water changes using RO water. Any suggestions on brands of salt mix? I was thinking of Tropic Marin. I also did not plan on using any supplements because of the weekly water changes. I also thought about hooking the power head to a timer to be on for 30 sec. than off for about 20 sec.

Looking forward to any constructive criticism.

Thanks

ditch the power sweep, there crap.

other then that , looks good to me. oh, and for salt mix, i use whatever is cheapest, as long as its not morton's you'll be okay.

i disagree with phenom5 suggestion with the power sweep. i have been using them for 3 years and am very happy with the results. a lot of people here and anywhere you go will have different opinions on what is the best. just go with what works for you. and as far as salt mixes go you really don't want to go with the cheapest but go with what works. instant ocean is a very good brand and so is tropic marine. i have used both though i am happier with instant ocean. some companies offer salt that has high numbers of phosphates and such that you really don't want to add to your tank. my advice would be to take everything you hear with a grain of salt and research all of it. like i said you will find what works best with you.