Coral Vue Hydros

15 Gallon loaded as 10 Gallon OK?

KevinC

Hi all,

I've been reading this board for several months and am getting close to setting up my tank.

I'm currently finishing up my tank stand and custom light hood.

My questions since I'm new to this, and haven't found a clear answer is the following:

I'm thinking of going with a 15 gallon instead of a 10 gal like I was orginally going to. But I was going to stock it as a 10 still and use the extra 5 gallons as a bio-buffer?

I would still stock it it with LR (10-12lbs) and LS(10-15 lbs) a little over the 10 limit. Would this help improve the tanks stability and bio load, etc.

Would there be any benifits, or draw backs that you guys can see.

Thanks,

Kevin

well, i would have to say the more LR you have, the more filtration and bacteria you will have to stabalize your ammonia and nitrite levels to a hush, and the nitrate will already be present due to live rock being in your tank. Thats the purpose of live rock, to just start your tank, as well as looks and other visually preffered creatures that come along with it (not to mention annoying hitchhikers as well). The more the better, but you would want to leave a good amount of room for the actual inhabitants as well. Too much rock and it might not look as enhanced and alive as you wanted it too.

and by the way, what kind of DIY hood dir you make (total watt and lumens?)

I would say that from a stocking point of view, less bio-load and more water is always better in terms of stability and waste removal, etc. This sounds like a good plan, but I would also consider stocking up on LR as if it were a 15 gallon. You don't have to, but it will only help. If you don't want to spend the money or clutter your tank, you should be fine the way you are, though. You can always add more later, so take your time and experiment.

I am, however, relatively new to the game so take anything I say with a large grain of sea-salt.