Top Shelf Aquatics

How To - Aquastyle DIY LED - Coral Photos Added

Trogdor447

Here you will find photographed instructions on how to DIY Aquastyles LED kit. It took me about 4 hours to completely assemble everything - I'm not a novice to wiring though.

Whats in the box!

100MEDIAIMAG0122.jpg

2- Heatsinks - I ordered 2 at rays suggestion, glad I did.

2- Mounting Kits (currently he is shipping with heat sinks for free)

2- Power cords with convenient connectors - I don't like these and I solder my wires!

2- 12v Fans (the fan blades color is yellow but they work)

Pack of LEDs of your choosing - Ray ships a few extras I did not get extra UV bulbs

2- LED Dimmable drivers

3- Tubes of Heatsink Plaster - (only used 1)

2- ~6 foot long 16 guage wires.

37- 60 degree Optics

1 Free fish thermometer!! Thanks RAY!

IMAG0126.jpg

Oh wait that is my cats trying to find out whats in the box :) Too late kitties.

What you will need!

IMAG0121.jpg

The basics:

Permanent Market (Sharpe fine tip I prefer)

Wire Cutters

Soldering Iron

Solder - thinner the better for this job.

Measuring Tape

Small needle nose pliers - Not required but makes life easy when soldering

Electrical Tape - I used almost an entire roll of it.

The Extras:

Volt Meter (if you have any wiring issues - I did not fortunately)

Duct Tape (used for holding the heat sinks together)

Project Box - Will be used to mount the dimmers

These are the step by step instructions from Ray at Aquastyles.

1: Decide Position of LEDs.

2. Using the Heatsink plaster to adhere the LEDs to the Heatsink. Be careful it dries in 10 minutes.

3. Position the LEDs so they are easily soldered. Remember it's a simple +- +- in series arrangement.