inTank Media Baskets

Water testing

fastuno

I am a newbie doing some research & am interested to know how often you guys test your systems and what it is you test for & with.

I plan to have the following:

-39gal

-CustomSeaLife 2x65 PowerCompact 10k/Actinic with integrated moonlights

-Ebo Jagger 100W heater

-Prizm skimmer (maybe- depends on how badly needed)

-60LBS LR, 2" LS

-clean-up crew

-percula clown, hawk, gobby

-corals tbd

I was planning on doing 10gal of water change per week religiously. Will this guarantee me a stable system, with minimal ammonia/nitrates/nitrites? I read an article in here that stated that as long as you do water changs you eliminate the bad & bring in the good. Suggestion is that not even calcium needs to be added. How true is this?

With the weekly water changes I would only check for Salinity & PH & not worry too much about calcium. Is this a big mistake, that is why I am asking before making this potential blunder.

PS check out some of my aquarium shots at

http://www.pbase.com/fastuno

Until your tank starts consuming more calcium (corals, coralline, snails…) you can get by without dosing it (water changes will replenish buffers and elements while removing wastes). Remember - do not dose anything that a test kit hasn’t indicated that you need. Eventually, your tank might consume more calcium than weekly water changes can replenish.

I like to test about once a week or whenever I’m concerned that something might be wrong. In the beginning you’ll be testing primarily for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate. As time moves on you’ll be testing for calcium and alkalinity.

Whenever you add livestock to an immature tank, you’ll be testing more than once a week. When months go by without seeing ammonia or nitrite (even through deaths or adding livestock) you’ll know that your tank is relatively stable and you might not have to test quite so often. However, you should continue to test all of your levels on a regular basis.