Top Shelf Aquatics

JBJ 28G Nano Hanging Led Fixture

neoburn1035

neoburn1035

Hello everyone I am new to the Nano-Reef forums, but I have been very active on my local forums. Not many people have done diy led retros or fixtures on my local forum, so I came here because I have a few questions before I start to build my fixture, and it looks like there is alot of experience here in LED DIY from the posts I have read. I do apologize ahead off time for the length of this post. I am a noob when it comes to DIY led's. I am just getting back in to reefing after a 5 year break. So here I go.

(Its like pop quiz in school) So lets begin, you have 45 minutes, you may start now." just kidding :lol: Thanks in advance for the info.

First let me start by telling you all what I have already. I purchases from a local reefer a 12 Ultra Premium LED DIY Kit with Dimmable Driver link to the kit. The driver is a Mean Well ELN-60-48D dimmable driver and he ordered the 65 degree lenses with it, two extra led's of each color and an extra Mean Well ELN-60-48D, a 6 x 9 heatsink tapped for 18 led's at 1.75in center to center on the led, two pots, two 10v ac adapters, thermal grease and screws to mount the led's.

Let me tell you what I am looking to build and what I was looking to keep keep in my Nano.

The fixture will be hanging over my JBJ 28G Nano. I am looking to hang it maybe 8-12" off the top of the water. I am also looking for as close to a MH150 10k bulb as I can get.

I am wanting to keep some pretty hardy corals and maybe one ore two more difficult speciems as the tank ages. Some of what I am looking to keep are maybe like a frogspawn or two in different colors, some zoos, a hammer coral, a sabae, a sps or two in the future. I am not sure what else at this time but that should cover it for now.

So now to the questions I have.

1) How many led should I have to get good coverage? Would 28 be enough? That leads me into the next question.