SaltCritters.com

Tharsis' 10 gallon soft coral tank

tharsis

FTS 9/12/11

IMG_7308.JPG

FTS 5/30/11

IMG_6762.JPG

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have been keeping high tech planted freshwater tanks for awhile and I decided to make the plunge into saltwater tanks...mostly from the urging of my wife as she was fed up with seeing only green tanks. So I graciously obliged her and got to work on a spare 10 gallon.

I have been getting help on here (mostly identifying hitchhikers) for the last 3 weeks and am now going to start a journal. As this is my first time with SW please feel free to give me any opinions (good or bad) as I want to learn.

It is set up with:

4x18 watt Odyssea brand 20" fixture (2x10000 and 2 x actinics)

Marineland penguin 200 HOB

100 Watt heater

Crushed coral and live aragonite sand mixed

7 pounds live rock

2 pounds rubble

I am still playing around with the scape, not sure if I am happy with it. I was going for a peninsula type set-up tapering downwards, but the depth of the 10 gallon is somewhat limiting. I will probably move the the two pieces of rubble at the far left into the HOB. I also want to prop the large bottom piece up a bit to make a tunnel type structure. Any advice on the positioning of the rocks would be greatly appreciated.

IMG_5996.JPG

CUC: 4 nerites, 2 nassarius, 2 cerith, 2 , a crapload of dwarf ceriths, a crapload of periwinkles, a bunch of brittle stars and bristle worms as hitchhikers.

I added the CUC when I started seeing the diatom outbreak, and they handled that with ease. Now i am getting the green algae phase, and they are also making short work of that. Although the dirty glass is kinda driving me nuts...I want to clean it but I figure i will let the crew be happy. When I am through this initial phase i will likely get rid of most of the dwarf ceriths as they are an eyesore.