Top Shelf Aquatics

pls will someone tell me if this idea will work ?

catysmum

hi,

im new to this message board and before i start putting things together i would prefer to have some of you more experienced peoples look over my idea and offer suggestions and/or advice if you can :)

my kids are anxious to try a reef tank, which i think would be a wonderfully educational experience for them not to mention a beautiful addition to our lil house, but as i am space challenged in this house it has to be a small tank :)

but back to my idea i was reading a thread about the suggestion of a "god tank" < Ultra Cheap Nano-Reef : Please Help and was wondering if someone could tell me more about this ?

and whether it is feasable in one of those "all in one" glass tanks such as the aquapro 800 @ 20g i think, its 25"x15"x21" it has 2 lights with independant switches not sure of the wattage tho but i dont imagine they will be very high, they appear to be similar to the aga tanks tho < i cannot find anything about this online but they have lights and wet dry filter in the hood> ..

i know i need a heater .. what wattage should i use and is there one small enough that would not be visually intrusive in the tank ?

with this i would have 3-4" of live sand < if i can find it here in aust lol > i have not seen or heard of southdown sand being available here does anyone know the equivelant cost and quaity wise that is available here ?

also i would think i would need approx. 30 pounds of live rock , would this be about right ? or should i go for closer to 40 given that the tank will be running with only the aquaclear 500 as a refugium /filter ?

i will replace the hood with better lights when i can and get rid of the bioballs in the wet dry and just use it for circulation < or is there a better use for this area>? and also install a aquaclear 500 as a refugium as per the various threads on here and reefcentral.com < would this be right ? >