Cultivated Reef

Dave Fason's LED Build with Ryujin Lighting Controller

gummbyjim

Recently I purchased an LED lighting system from Paul Price that was made by Dave Fason. Dave Fason did an excellent job with the build. In the following post I am going to try and review the build, the controller and the Nanobox program as best I can.

Let me start by talking about the lighting a bit. Dave did a very neat job when he arranged all the LEDs in the hood. In the hood there are 24 LEDs in total which consist of 12 Cree XP-E Royal Blues and 12 Cree XP-G cool whites. The output on these things are incredible. Going from a stock compact florescent to these things have been a pleasure. Here is what the LED setup looks like.

post-55690-1298334860_thumb.jpg

The next part of this build is the Ryujin Board. This thing is incredible. I am not an expert on this but I believe that all the drivers are on the board and they are called buck pucks. An external power supply hooks up to the board which powers the drivers and the board itself. The board includes an OLED screen which displays the current time. There is also a place to put a USB cable so that you could program the board on your computer. Here is what the board looks like.

post-55690-1298334889_thumb.jpg

The board interacts with the computer through a program called Nanobox. Mr. Fason created this program with a friend to program the board. The program is excellent in customizing everything from sunrise, to sunset, to cloud coverage. It even does thunderstorms.

post-55690-1298334898_thumb.jpg