Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

torch coral, suffocated?

xtlosx

Hey everyone. I picked up a torch frag this week, brought it home and had it placed on the bottom and it started opening up and looking happy... I figured it might want some more light, and I moved it up on my rock work and used some of the reef putty to attach it to the rock.... Well, needless to say I'm a newb and I think that I used too much putty, and might have suffocated the exoskeleton (is this possible??) It has shriveled up, and hasn't reered it's polyps...

Tomorrow I'll be trying to pry it off the rock work, and get all of the epoxy off it in hopes of reviving it.. My wife tells me it's whitish in color and hasn't come out today... Hoping it's not dead..

Any thoughts.. besides I'm learning :)

I doubt aquarium epoxy would be the issue, but it takes forever to harden so you shouldn't have to do any prying, just pick it up and take off the epoxy (unless you super glued).

It may just need time to acclimate, or your water parameters may not be correct.

What are your water parameters?

I will test when I get home (I'm in San Fran right now with work). Last time I tested (last weekend) everything normal and looked good..

So having the aquarium epoxy over the exoskeleton isn't going to smother it or anything? That was my main concern... if that's not the case, it's just not happy in the spot I have it in.

I will test when I get home (I'm in San Fran right now with work). Last time I tested (last weekend) everything normal and looked good..

So having the aquarium epoxy over the exoskeleton isn't going to smother it or anything? That was my main concern... if that's not the case, it's just not happy in the spot I have it in.

Probably just not happy where you put it.

Maybe to much light or to much direct flow?