Innovative Marine Aquariums

Newbie Live Rock Crash Course?

konapete

Hi All,

I'm new to saltwater... Have a few questions. I'm starting a 10 gal AGA here in the next couple weeks. I was just wondering on how I can pick out good liverock at the LFS. What do I look for in particular? As far as pricing goes, what is a good per pound rate for liverock to start a reef? I want to make sure that I'm not being suckered. Also, what powerheads are recommended for a 10 gal?

The cost of your LR is going to vary depending on the quality and origin. Rock with lots of life on it will cost much more than something that has nothing on it (base rock). Since it's a nano, most of your rock will be exposed, so you may want to go with the better stuff. I would check around at all the LFS and see what the prices are like and compare the quality. Something to keep in mind when comparing prices from the LFS to the prices from online suppliers is that the stuff at the local fish store should be cured. This means that you don't have to cope with the large amount of die off that happens furing shipping. Uncured LR will foul your tank and can smell quite awful (Best done in a garage).

As for price...

It will vary depending on the region of hte country you are in and the amount of competitin your LFS has.

If I remember correctly my LFS sells base rock for about $2/lb and LR for about $4.50/lb. I'm kind of fuzzy on this as I haven't bought any for some time.

I realize that I haven't helped on the cost issue much, but the best bet is to shop around.