inTank Media Baskets

NSW opportunity

naenae82

Hi, I'm building my first reef! I'm excited! But I have a unique situation: I live in Okinawa, Japan (a subtropical island!) so I'm always 10 minutes or less from the ocean. On the West is the East China Sea and on the East is the Pacific. I grabbed some NSW yesterday and checked the params and they seem great (so far).

I was just wondering - seen how none of my stuff will be shipped and I don't have a horrendous transit time (yesterday was 10 minutes I think), will I experience the same amount of die-off etc that others will typically have using NSW? How does this (and NSW in general) affect my cycling time?

Today I'm going to scour for some liverock and whatnot. Hopefully I can catch low tide. Same die-off question applies here, I suppose.

Any help and pointers using NSW is appreciated by the Noob here.

Thanks in advance!

Oh - I also forgot to ask: The water temp in the ocean right now is about 67-68F, and the temp in my tank is about the same without a heater. Are all the little critters going to die once my heater arrives?

Welcome to N-R.com.

Living dead center in the U.S., I have no experience with NSW. However, I would think in an industrialized area, like Japan, you might be introducing some pollutants. I can't really be sure on that, as it may depend greatly on the area you take it from and the currents there at the time. Just a thought to keep in mind.

As for die off on live rock. My guess is it would be minimal. The LR we get shipped to the states has been out of the water for weeks sometimes. So, minutes wouldn't be a problem, IMO.

Send me a black sail fin goby for my efforts, please.