Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Algea

Kdog4223

Need some help with a algea problem. I currently have a 7 gallon tank with about 5 pounds of live rock roughly. I have 4 turbo snails and they aren't getting all of the algea off of the glass. Any ideas. Any help or pointers would be great I'm new to this hobby.

2 words: mag float.... those are the coolest things to come along since sliced bread. it only takes about a minute or two every other day, and you can easily get rid of any algae on the glass that your snails leave behind.

40oz casualtie

well the mag float is a good idea and i have one but it only gets the algea off of the tank but the algea is still in the water. just warning you don't use tap water. even if you condition it and declorinate it, it has nitrites and other bad things that break down into nitrates which produce algea. you may already know that but just incase. if you do have tap water in your tank just do some one fourth water changes about twice a week for about 2 or 3 weeks. you may also want to inves in a protein skimmer if you don't already have one. if you already have one and you used distilled water then how often do you do water changes because i usually do about 3 to 4 water changes a month in my 25g tank.

I dont use tap water, I use purified water and i also have a mag float, but there are certain parts i cant get to cuz of the live rock touching the glass. So are there a type of snail that is better than another????

40oz casualtie

well i have this huge snail i got that is like 4" wide but i don'[t know what it is called. the turbo snails are pretty good though. i mean all tanks have some algea. you probably don't need to wory about it.

How long ago did you put the snails in? And how new is the tank? Different parts of your tank's cycle can produce different blooms. Other things can cause this like lighting, number of fish, feeding your fish...etc.

Originally posted by Kdog4223