inTank Media Baskets

what would I need?

nanocurious

Can anyone help me out here?, I am an experienced saltwater aquarist, but I am relatively new to the nano aquarium. I am just curious as to what I would need to be able to house a FOWLR for a dorm room! I was thinking of the JbJ nano cube or the eclipse twelve! but do not have any experience dealing with either one. I am wonderinring what kind of filtration is necessary, and what kind of inhabitants will be alright!

the cube should be fine for a FO/FOWLR. i wouldn't touch a thing since it's setup for fish (as is the Eclipse). i just think the cube looks sharper (i.e. more chicks) than the Eclipse.

you can opt for LR/LS or the wet/dry that's already on either. it's really up to you to have the LR/LS for looks more than filtration (for the FOWLR).

it also depends on your bio-load (fish-wise). if you're going for a lot of fish then i would stick with the wet/dry's. if you eventually planning on reefing (invert-wise) then you might as well start with the LR/LS and go from there. hth

Thanks tinyreef, for the info,you don't think that a tank with a small bioload and a five pounds of LR FOR NITRIFICATION would be too much upkeep do you? Also, would I need to upgrade the lighting for some star polyps?

hmm, altho gsp's are hardy and tolerant, otoh they're also 'canaries of a reef'. they'll be one of the first to tell you there's something amiss so they like clean water (who doesn't?). i'm a skimmer-person so i'm biased as to using them. 50/50 is the split here.

for that lineup i would recommend going reef-style filtration (i.e. any of the berlin, jaubert, shaolin :P , hybrid, or hail mary styles). the shrimp and corals will defnitely prefer (need) the complete denitrification cycle versus wet/dry's stunted cycle.

Originally posted by nanocurious

what kind of skimmer is necessary for that small of a tank?