Cultivated Reef

inherited 12g flatback hex AIO

drewbold

1st of all let me say hi to everyone, I'm Drew. I'm new to the whole nano reef scene, and thanks in advance for any and all advice you may have and sorry for spelling and grammar errors. So a few weeks ago had dinner with my mom and her boyfriend long story short, I end up coming home with a new toy, a 12g clarity plus AIO fish tank (hand me down but decent condition, pics tomorrow hopefully if we find the camera, this is link to a brand new one very similar http://www.aquariumsdirect.com/aquariums/s...amp;subid=3578). It has been setup and untouched for a year just running with only about 20-25 lbs of LR and about 2 inches of crushed coral base (hand me down so I dont know exact weights). It came with 2 coral life power compacts that run side by side, each fixture with 1, 9w actinic and 1, 9w 10,000k. Also, an extra powerhead, which i keep running near the bottum left of the tank to get some flow down there, since stock powerhead flows from the top right corner and a heater. So, I brought it home 10 days ago and did about a 40% water change because there hadn't been a water change or anything done to this tank in a year or longer. It also was filled in the back with bio balls which i rinsed out in RO water before putting them back in. I replaced the old carbon bag as well as have new bulbs on the way for the lights. The nitrates were off the charts even after the water change, so a week later I did another 30% water change and today I checked the nitrates are finally coming down to about 40-80 range. I am planning on doing another water change tomrrow although it is only 3 days after the last one. So, now to my probably stupid questions, I've seen alot of info here but alot of it was old and I am not sure if it still applies, since everyone always debating one thing over another. Should I just take the bioballs out all-together? I have also seen some people saying to use Chemi-Pure Elite, is that something