ReefCleaners.org

Controller likes and dislikes.

Thestral

So I'm thinking of building and programming my own expandable controller, though as I'm doing this I'm wondering if it's worth it. With my 120g cycling I find more and more reason to look into a controller, however I'm not sure if I should just suck it up and build one or pick up something like the RKL. My background is in software engineering and my hobbies include robotics so I'm not exactly worried about the learning curve.

I guess what I'm asking is what do you all like and dislike about the currently available controllers. The big boys in the business seem to be Neptune (Apex) and Digital Aquatics (RKL &RKE). Are there things that you find missing or hard to use? I know neither unit looks very water resistant so that is something I may look into if I build my own, but I don't think I'd end up splashing it very often since it's not an under tank sump.

I know Arduino is an option but I may just build something myself using a PIC chip as I'm already familiar with the environment and hardware.

My background is in software engineering and my hobbies include robotics so I'm not exactly worried about the learning curve.

I know Arduino is an option but I may just build something myself using a PIC chip as I'm already familiar with the environment and hardware.

I'm a HW engineer and I built one because I don't know what's going on in those other controllers and didn't want to take their word for it. There's been LOTS of success with the ones you mentioned. If you have the time I'd just build one because you can easily tweak it later on or simply add more to it.

The PIC option is a good one. I chose to use arduino because the coding was quite a bit easier for me. My background is mainly in C and I had a few odd microcontroller eval kits around but I'm honestly glad I went with the arduino. A ton of code already exists for peripherals and it was really a one day project had I gone about it as such.