ReefCleaners.org

Things you wish you know when you got your biocube 29g?

TheNorthernLight

TheNorthernLight

Hello,

I'm downgrading from a 160 Gallon tank, down to a 29g biocube in the next few weeks. I'm ONLY doing this because I don't have time to do large volumes of water changes (40G 1/month is a pita in an apartment). I used to have a 20G High, upgraded to a 75G, then upgraded to my 120+40G fuge. I've got 5+ years experience with SW fish, so its really just the equipment that I've got questions on.

So I purchased a brand new biocube 29g tank and it's associated stand. This is NOT the HQI model, but the dual 39W PC model. I do plan on upgrading the lighting to either a high LED light hood, or install a 75w MH under the hood.

I'm only planning on keeping my two clown fish, and a juvenile valentini puffer (until it grows too large, and then sell it).

What I'm curious about, is what would be any physical mods that people would suggest to do PRIOR to setting up the tank.

Id really like to hear from those that have the biocubes, and if you could answer the generic question of "If only I had known this BEFORE I setup this tank!".

Things that I have/plan on doing :

1) Removed the included bioballs (no thanks, don't need extra nitrates)

2) Cut the flow path from chamber 1 -> 2 larger to allow more flow.

3) Dremel the overflow grill to have slightly larger spacing (to reduce anything from clogging the primary overflow grill.

4) Upgrade the return pump to an MJ1200 (I have quite a few from my bigger tanks)

5) Hook up a hydro-flo circulating head to the MJ ? (not sure if I need this or not).

6) Put the heater in the middle chamber.

7) Was thinking of eventually getting the biocube UV filter, and the protein skimmer (are this at all worth it? or are the junk).

Thanks in advance,

Spyrule.

Look at the resource guide for biocubes. It goes over all of it. Removing the sponges, false floors and cutting the inlet divider lower is a start tho. Also get a mj 1200