Top Shelf Aquatics

what size tank is better

MaxMike

I really don't suggest beginners start with a nano-reef. The more tank you have, the more water you have to play with. Larger tanks with more water are more stable, don't accumulate nitrate as quickly, etc.

Go with the biggest tank you can afford. I'd only suggest nano-reefing to people who have kept bigger tanks, or people who have done a lot of research into caring for them. Believe it or not, it can be just as much work (or more) to maintain a little reef as it is to maintain a bigger one.

Larger tanks and their requisite equipment will cost more up front, but if you're a complete newbie, i'd suggest going bigger.

while aipt's got a point, a lot of beginners have been very successful starting small (see Members' & Photos forum). i'd like to think that it's a result of a combination of available equipment and accepting attitude (toward nano-reefing) these days.

if you're planning to go complete reef then stake out a budget with most of it going to lighting imo. i would tack on a protein skimmer but that's just my pers pref. people here are split 50/50 on the skimming.

i'd start with a standard size/shape tank. (i.e. 10g or 20Long) these shapes have the most applicable equipment (e.g. lighting, filtration, overflows, etc.).

before all of that tho, i usually recommend to the reefer to figure out what they hope to raise. the livestock they're aiming for may have particular needs better suited by certain physical factors (e.g. height for seahorses, area/length for fish, substantial rock amounts for rock dwellers, sandbed etc.).

try to figure out most of what you absolutely want and then build it around that. reefs are specific ecosystems, built of even more specific sub-ecosystems. our goal is usually to replicate one or more of those sub-ecos. hth