Pod Your Reef

nappy Chateo?

rO.oster

reefers,

I have been running a fuge in my BC29 for the last 5 months (tank specs and setup in OP of my build thread), with a DIY 13w CFL supercompact fuge light powering the fuge. Initially, the growth was phenominal, and the chaeto ball would double weekly, the ball itself would be fluffy, and the chaeto strands long and straight. I would always remove 3/4 of the ball every 2 weeks, to allow room for new growth.

Now, 6 months in, the chateo ball hardly grows, and the growth is tight and knotted. No matter if I pull the ball apart to make it looser so light penetrates, it remains this way, often floating at the top of the fuge basket. Now, becuase of this I cleaned out my fuge and scraped the fuge basket/back glass free of coraline so it recieves max lighting. Still no luck.

What has happened to my chaeto?

Do I need to replace my CFL bulb?

Also, I think the 6 month syndrom has occured in my tank, as the cyano just wont leave my sandbed, no matter how little and carefully I feed. Aqualife 115 skimmer is pulling dark green skim, and chaeto refuses to grow right.

Please help, thanks!

yes but the cyano algae seems to be increasing its reign from a few spots, to now having patches of sandbed covered.

and i have some small leaf vine creeping macro i put in there a month ago (was hiding in a piece of LR i used to glue some xenia down to) and its now spreading niclely.

also, had both of my new peppermin shrimp go stoned for a few days, then die. so im assuming my nitrates are on the high side.

ill get the test kit out tonight, but im fairly sure they have enough food.