SaltCritters.com

Alternative to weekly water changes

sidel

Ok, newbie here :). I've tried search, but it didn't quite give me the answers I was looking for.

Is there a method to reduce the need for weekly water changes? In one post (I can't even remember clearly), but someone had mentioned sumps and fuges. Did a search, but nothing turned up. Can anyone explain how that works? Perhaps I just got confused with the statement. I guess I'm just looking for a self-sustaining tank that only requires little maintenance (little to no water change) as soon as it's established. I'm planning on a 10 gallon nano. Is that even possible. Any thoughts or suggestions plz:)

Also, on a 10 gallon, is it better to lean towards more live rock or live sand? I was thinking of getting about 20lbs of live sand, but only 10lbs of live rock. Should I have 20lbs of LR and 10lbs of LS? Would it even make a difference?

I live in the Seattle area so if anyone can suggest a descent place to buy live rock, it would be much appreciated:). Well, thanks for any help!

Sidel

Originally posted by sidel

[bI guess I'm just looking for a self-sustaining tank that only requires little maintenance (little to no water change) as soon as it's established.  I'm planning on a 10 gallon nano.  Is that even possible.  Any thoughts or suggestions plz:)

Also, on a 10 gallon, is it better to lean towards more live rock or live sand?  I was thinking of getting about 20lbs of live sand, but only 10lbs of live rock.  Should I have 20lbs of LR and 10lbs of LS?  Would it even make a difference?

I live in the Seattle area so if anyone can suggest a descent place to buy live rock, it would be much appreciated:).  Well, thanks for any help!

[/b]