ReefCleaners.org

What do you think for this start?

MGXsport

I have been floating around for a few months reading and I am going to start a 10g Nano in a free tank I have. :D

Here is what I am thinking of having going in the tank for some weeks:

SW from LFS (Not sure if they have it because they are in the process of moving a block down the street. If not I guess I could get some water from the store.)

10# of LS

13# of LR

Coralife 96watt 20" (I believe this is what I was looking while at the LFS)

powerhead (Not sure what I will get yet advice please :) )

and a 50watt submersible heater.

Would this be a way to go?

I was thinking about adding a few corals and some shrimp or snails after the few weeks of cycles and then a clownfish and some sort of gobie. Those are two of my favorite types of SW fish any advice on which clowns and gobies to get?

Also I couldn't check out the light that well but does this sit on the rim of the tank, or will I have to take some plexi from work to get it something to sit on?

Thanks,

Chris

sounds good, that much light sounds like it might be overkill for a ten gallon if you're a newbie. I started out with 65 watts on my 20g and never even hooked up my 36w I bought in addition to it, everything does fine with 65 (its mostly softies, with porites and a couple lps, all splitting/growing nicely). I use maxijet powerheads, they work fine. Stay away from maroon/tomatoe clowns, they get big. A lot of people on here like clown gobies and ocellaris clowns for their nanos, good luck

Stick with a minijet or ehiem powerhead. Don't buy one of the new maxijets. They're complete garbage. The older ones work well, but the new ones have a problem where they seize up and you can't fix them.

I would get ocellaris (false percula) clownfish. They stay small and they have a good temperment. As for gobies - as long as you stay away from sand sifters and mandarins you should be fine.