inTank Media Baskets

Ryujin LED Lighting System

divecj5

Ryujin Lighting System -- Controller/Program Review

Let me start this review by saying that I've been reefing for going on 6 years now and I've mainly stuck with T5 lighting. I started with some el cheapo strip lights that were called T5s but were really VHOs on a 55g. Then I switched to T5s with top notch individual reflectors with an Aquatinics fixture....then switched to a 150w Sunpod....then back to another Aquatinics fixture. Long story short, I have ZERO experience with LEDs other than knowing of them and reading about them. I was on the verge of switching over to some Par38 bulbs when DFason mentioned some ideas he had about a sleek, modern LED fixture paired with some awesome ideas for the controller and computer interface.

After about 10 months of chatting back and forth, GBs worth of emails, and hundreds of hours of testing on Dave's part, I now have a prototype of his final unit over my 17g rimless and I think he's on the verge of something really unique.

Since this isn't the final fixture fixture, I'm going to review the board and controller with of course lots of pictures and some FTS at the end.

LED's - Luxeon Rebel's with custom optics

2:1 Royal Blue : Neutral White

LED Boards - Custom 1" square three up boards. Can be run all separate, together, and 2:1. The LED's are in a radial pattern resulting in little to no issues with colors not blending. The squares also have a custom wide optic.

OLED Screen - OLED (organic light emitting diode) - advantages over traditional LCDs include: lower power consumption, higher contrast, and due to the manufacturing process they are sealed, making them highly resistant to vibration and moisture. Unlike LCDs, each pixel of an OLED screen is a light emitting diode and emits its own light. Power consumption is directly proportional to how many pixels are lit, making it easy to view, even in direct sunlight. The screen is incredibly crisp!!!