Innovative Marine Aquariums

water prep

harday

Sorry for the silly question, but I'm a newb and need some assurance here. I plan to use distilled water for my water changes. Once I mix in the salt and cap the jug, how long is the water then still safe to use? Does it go bad after a certain amount of time? I would like to mix one large bucket, then put it in a number of smaller jugs for each change, but I don't want to do anything wrong. Any guidance here would be very much appreciated.

Distilled water is 100% pure water, which means it has nothing in it. That means that the water can swing acidic or alkaline depending on what you add to it. If I were you, i'd consider using a little buffer in the water before mixing in the sea salts. Kent marine makes a product called osmo-prep marine. Here's a link:

http://www.kentmarine.com/html/opm.html

After that, a good synthetic sea salt mix, like instant ocean, should be used to make your sea water. Some sea mixes recommend you use water in a specific temperature range so that your hydrometer readings will be accurate, from 75 to 80 deg.. I use a 5 gallon plastic bucket from Home Depot that's only been used to mix water (never used as a cleaning bucket, no soaps or chemicals ever used in it) and you can put a small aquarium heater in it to warm it if you'd like. Just suction cup the heater to the side (don't let it come into contact with the plastic) or affix it to the rim at the top.

Instant ocean and other good sea salts can be used almost immediately. I like to take my RO/DI water and put it in the bucket, mix in the osmo-prep, mix in the sea salts and measure the specific gravity with my hydrometer. When it's between 1.022 and 1.024, it's full strength sea water and it's good to go.