Cultivated Reef

I am new to this game but want to start a 10g

Mikedel

Ok so Im starting to get the hang of fresh water, now Im wanting a new challange. All the people I have talked to on other sites tell me this is going to be too much of a challenge for a begginer, I live for chanllenges. It just makes things more interesting, and I learn better and faster challenging myself.I would like to put together a 10g tank with a pair of Clown fish, or maybe a couple other small salt water fish, or maybe a clown and something else. What kind of equipment do I need? What type of filter should I get? Other then filter and heater is there any other equipment I need? I read something about a protien skimmer. Do I need one of these, and if I do what do these do? How much live sand and live rock do I need? Also can someone explain to me what live sand and live rock actually are. All I really can seem to understand is it helps with the bio filtration. Do filters for freshwater tanks work for saltwater? They have a kit at the fish store that comes with a penguin bio wheel and heater. Should I get this then just buy any other equipment I need? What tempurature should I keep the tank at? How much light do I need for a FOWLR? Im sure I am gonna come up with a bunch more questions but this should help get me started.

Thanks,

Mike

So you like challenges? Hmmmm well......how much $$$ you got? hahaha. I'm tired but I'll try to answer this as well as I can

You'll want about 1-1.5lbs per gallon of sand and LR. For a FO tank there is no requirement on lights, a normal 15watt NO blub from a normal strip will do fine. I'd look into an AquaClear HOB filter. No you don't need a skimmer, you'll use water changes instead.