Innovative Marine Aquariums

Are my hermit crabs doomed?

ravenlot

I'm a newb when it comes to salt water aquariums. I read many articles on nano reef keeping before I decided to dive into the hobby but that didn't stop me from making a mistake :*(

Last week I started my first 10g nano. I bought LS, LR, genuine salt water, and a skimmer to convert my former freshwater plant tank into a nano reef. Though I'm experienced with cycling periods of freshwater aquariums and did read about cycling for nano reefs, I nonetheless accepted (to some degree) my LFS advise that I could add fish and corals almost immediately. It seemed to make sense to me since I was buying LR, LS, and real sea water.

Though I didn't go so far as to buy fish and corals, the clerk's advice was enough to convince me to buy 5 hermit crabs. Tell me, are my hermit crabs doomed?

not positive, I am new at this game, but as far as I understand some cycling will take place, and this will cause a spike in your ammonia nitrite and nitrate levels. Could be a problem sensative inverts?

good luck, let us know what happens

tf

Although not an expert, I read countless theards saying "Tank crashed! heater stuck on! or electricity went out! or Water went up to 100 degress, Ammonia throught the roof. etc.

The words at the end of these posts always say "everything died except for the hermits."

guess they're some type of mutants.

I dont think you'll lose any.

You most likely wont lose your hermits. Hermits are really hardy and they dont care what type of water they are in as long as its saltwater. (dont go testing this on some poor 99cent bluelegged hermit, they are living creatures)

ravenlot,