Top Shelf Aquatics

Help with calcium

jeeves

How do you dose in the nano world? I only have 6.6 gallons and my calcium is at 340. I have SeaChem Reef advantage calcium. It says each 5g will raise 12mg/L and not exceed 10g/150L a day. So the way I figure it, I can't exceed 1.65g per day - meaning I can only raise my calcium 3.96mg a day?? By that math it will take 3 weeks to get my tank up to 400. This can't be right.

I am new to this chemistry so any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks :)

Most people with nano's myself included maintain chemical balance by doing water changes weekly and not add anything else. Unless your salt is weak in some area. That said 340 ppm calcium is nothing to get stressed about. In fact that is about where most salts will put you. If you want to raise it and maintain it at a higher rate then taking a few weeks to get there is the prudent way to go. Keep in mind that Calcium, alklinty and mag levels all play hand in hand keeping each other in balance. If you raise your calcium levels dramaticallly your alk levels will most likely fall, without supplementing them as well.

He is the best source on the web for the information on maintaining reef chemistry. Advanced Aquarist

Do ya have stony corals that need the Calc?

If not, it's a non issue other than experience at keeping levels within recommended ranges...also a good thing.

I don't see a problem with raising your Calc 60points over a couple days. If your water clouds up, you'll know ya went too fast. Just leave it be if that happens and all will return to normal in a day or so.

best-o-luck

thanks... I am learning about those relationships you refer to. I think my problem is that my pH had dropped last week. And in a effort to raise it, I overshot and pushed my kH to 18! So this is prob throwing off calcium. As for magnesium, it is at 1260, so I am also trying to bring that up.