Pod Your Reef

10 gallon Nano-Reefing

KevinDubrow

Hey,

I'm interested in setting up a nano-reef and have read through the information (guides) on the site. I am new to Saltwater Aquariums, but have two thriving freshwater tanks. I want to set up a 10 gallon nano-reef tank using LS and LR as filtration and was wondering if this is unreasonable for someone who has never dealt with saltwater tanks. Basically, is this out of my league or can I do it? I was hoping for honest opinions, so any feedback would be great.

Thanks,

Kevin Dubrow

i don't see why not. as long as you plan it out ahead of time and don't get discouraged you should be able to hack it. it was different a few years back when nanoreefers had to go 'underground'. people actively discouraged reefers from going below the 55g limit. i remember avoiding letting anyone know how small my smallest tank was at the time (6g).

read up on the articles and some basic SW books (there are differences from FW). learn to recognize the critical issues in SW and nanos and you should be fine. good luck!