Photoplanton/brine shrimp hatcheries ?

DLeAnnM

I am a newbie just getting all my stuff together for my tank. I have

29 gallon/stand

Instant Ocean

RO/DI-Still need the pressurized tank tho

Coralife aqualight 130 watts

Test kits/hydrometer

Also have an old used wet/dry that I may use for a sump tho still looking into that

I live in NE MN where there are no petstores! The closest is Duluth which is 65 miles away. Even with this issue I am obsessed also with having a reef tank! I am just wondering do I need to have live food on hand? So my question is I have seen the pop bottles feeders(?) on peoples tanks and have seen brine shrimp hatcheries. Are these useful to me in my 29 gallon? How do these work? Does anyone utilize these things? Are they dependent on tank size or fish or corals?

I will be adding Live rock, sand. Will be purchasing skimmer, heater. Would like to have various corals and a few fish (blennie, clown?) though undecided on which ones. Any suggestions about my tank would be helpful.:) :)

Reefer_Buddha

you can grow your own phytoplankton with a plankton reactor but seems like more of a pain to do all that. Ive seen people make it with just pepsi bottles and put it under some intense lights. If i were you id just get DT's phytoplankton. Its live and supposed to be the best as far as buying phyto.

As a person who has cultured phytoplankton as a job I can tell you that it may be more time and work than you want to invest. You may want to look into presserved algae etc. If you are dead set on growing your own a good place to start for info is the Plankton Culture Manual from Florida Aqua Farms

http://www.aquaculture-supply.com/

Personally, I would rather spend my spare time with my tank than with gurgling containers of phytoplankton, but thenit might be that I get enough of algae at work.