SaltCritters.com

Running a Skimmer while Cycling?

NanoDood

TheCurriculum

http://www.nano-reef.com/forums/showthread...t=cycle+skimmer

I'm not an expert as I'm new here myself(well new bc I just now setting up my nano) so I have no clue to be honest.

But thier are tons of post about most things that you will want to know. Search on Cycle and Skimmer for example will return the link above and many other post.

Enjoy the site and browse through the old post.. Ton's of great info... I've spent many moons reading current and old post

Now I've finally begun my project.

If you can't find it in the old posts the odd's are someone here will be able to answer it

Just curious what are the specs of your nano?

I always like to see what others have done or are planning to do.

turn your skimmer off during cycling and the tank will cycle faster, a skimmer is a waste of $$ , its like a life insurance (dont need that for your tank)

What makes you say a skimmer is a waste of money? Because you don't own one? I guess MH is a waste of money then too because you can get away with 999 NO bulbs.

Chronicles .... MH is a different subject dude .but yup MH is a waste of money if you tank is a fish only tank. Ok i use to have a protein skimmer on my nano but i took it out and for me to compare is that its harder to keep my supplements level right cause the PS will take some of it out before the corals do. PS is good if you have a big tank but for nano i do a weekly WC thats my way to go..

So don't tell him it's a waste of money, you don't even know if he has a 2gal tank or a 29 or even bigger tank. Yeah MH is a waste if you have fish only, so is live rock, you gonna tell him that's a waste when you don't even know what he has? I've never had a problem with "supplement levels"....and yeah it's like life insurance, with this much money in something I want to make sure if something bad happens my skimmer is going to clean the water.