ReefCleaners.org

Is my fish sick?

biggs

My JBJ nano is on day four. I have never done this stuff before. There is about 10 pounds of live rock in there (cured) and 12 pounds of live sand (both from LFS.)

There's a pretty small damsel in there (blue body/ yellow tail) who is not quite an inch long.

The first day he was in there he was 'jumpy' and wouldn't sit still. Today he spent most of the day hiding and I got worried and moved the rock around to flush him out. Now he's swimming and sitting near the bottom and I notice his mouth is moving fast as if he were breathing fast.

Should I be concerned. Oh and before anyone yells at me for putting a fish in there, I was told it was OK by local fish place. After reading more I see it might not be the best idea. But TWO places said it was OK to do it.

FYI, my levels (ammonia, nitrate, nitrite, sg, temp) all seem OK except for the pH which I have trouble reading. The color just doesn't really seem to be the color on the little card (it's an Aquarium Pharmacuticals kit.) But that's because the colors on the card are strong in hue and the color of the sample is lighter of course. Is there an easier kit to read? I can't afford an electronic tester right now.

Thanks in advance.

Tony

My guess is that the the levels of ammonia and or nitrite are higher than you think or the Damsel was sick before you bought it.

Take a sample of water to your LFS and have them check it out.

Damsels are tough so it may not necessarily end in it's death.

PS how long did you have the LR and LS in the tank before you placed the Damsel in it and was the LR fully cured ?

doesn't sound like the damsel is going to make it

Does he have any other problems? Fins look torn? If that's the case, you might be able to help him with Melafix - good stuff.

How long was the tank set up before he was added?

Day 1 was water and salt. Day 2 LR and LS. Day 3 fish.