Pod Your Reef

My new 5 gallon

budahsacman

Hello everyone, I'm new to nano-reef.com but I’m totally impressed with it's wealth of information. Anyway I setup my first 5-gallon nano about a week ago and wanted to get some feedback.

I've seen lots of eclipse 6 posts but none from this particular company. It was manufactured by Hawkeye aquariums (http://www.hawkeyeaquarium.com/)

It's the 5-gallon brite V. It came with HOB filter. Anyway I know some people have it out for Wal-Mart but the setup was considerably cheaper than the eclipse system and even the "Regent 5" eclipse knockoff. It totaled around 35 bucks after taxes. The hood is a little deeper also and looks promising for a DIY light upgrade. The trapezoidal shape is also pretty cool. You can see pictures of my tank and its progress at the link below

p.s. I'd like a little feedack on what everyone thinks of this brand of tank vs other 5-8 gallons, thanks.

http://www.onealconcepts.com/nano.html

pic3jpg.jpg

Looks pretty sweet! I like the trapezoid shape, it's a neat change from all the bowfronts. What kind of lighting does it come with, and what do you forsee being able to upgrade to with the stock hood?

JohnnyMTB-

im pretty sure the stock lighting is just an 8 watt t5 fluro, it lights the tank ok but it's not up to nano-reef.com standards yet.

As for the upgrade, I'm considering either 13W pc or maybe a 2X13 if it will fit another possibility would be the screw in type compact fluros. I dont have the exact mesusurments of the space yet, and I'm not a lighting expert either. The light holding part of the hood is somwhere aound 14 inches long and about 4-6 inches Wide and about 9 inches deep thats just an estimate