ReefCleaners.org

Refugium plumbing for dummies needed.

SaltyinNJ

I am seriously considering adding a 5 gallon refugium for my 7 gal mini-bow. I am pretty new to the reef hobby and have been reading up on refugiums. Now, I understand the basic concepts, but I haven't found anything that tells me exactly how to do it, what equipment I need, etc.

I would like to have the refugium above my mini-bow since I have the mini on a desk and have shelving above the desk. I did see someone post a setup similar to this recently using a critter keeper. I just don't really know where to start, so any help would be great. Thanks.

Fishiebusiness

hope this helps:

For my fuge i use an above tank approach. Here are many pics: (my dorm room is quite junkie as you can see)

Here is the tank and the refugium over all:

fugeoverall.jpg

As you can see, there are two water lines, one for return and one for the pump. The return tube is attached to a bulkhead installed near the top of the refugium. The following is a closer look:

bulkheadcloseup.jpg

The line attached to the pump goes on top and into the refugium. Here is a clear picture of the AC powerhead 201 i use to supply water to the fuge:

pumpmechanism.jpg

Lastly, heres an overall pic for the helluvit:

dormtanks.jpg

Thanks fishiebusiness, the close up pics are very helpful.

Did you install that bulkhead by yourself? How difficult was it if you did? Is there a better material, plastic, acrylic, glass that I should use for the refugium that will make it easier to do?

Salty,

I added some pics to my nano thread and bit more info... thread is "My 5.5 and 'fuge" in the Members section.

If you take a look, it should be self-explanatory, I would be happy to take some more pics and give more info specific to your questions if ya like.

Basically same setup as Fishie, just a little more "condensed", hehe

(BTW, nice setup Fishie ;) )

Fishiebusiness

Thanks,