Coral Vue Hydros

Hello I'm new here: 7 gal AGAs + SPS +PCs

Adam Jones

Hello, this is my first post here, although I have been posting at Reef Central for about 3 years.

If you have a >10 gallon nano AND SPS AND PC lighting, could you please comment on your experiences: types of inhabitants, length kept, coloration, overall health, feeding schedule, etc. Links to photos or your home page would be appreciated.

I am considering setting up a 7 gallon AGA bow with 3x28 watt power compacts (have lots of DIY 28 watt ballasts - not sure if 4x28 watt would fit). I've priced out 70 and 150 watt HQI pendants, and they aren't in my budget...maybe in a year. I want to keep SPS and a pair of harlequin shrimps in the tank. If 3x28 PCs aren't enough for a healthy, long-term SPS tank, I will go with 2x28 PCs and polyps with the harlequins.

The 7 gallon bow will have bulkhead(s) that drain the tank to a 10-20 gallon sump shared by a 29 gallon tank. I will use an Aqua C Remora Pro and macroalgaes in the 29 for nutrient export. The 29 will have a deep sand bed and lots of live rock, and will primarily hose Euphyllia family corals. I'll keep linkia starfish in the 29 to feed the harlequins.

I'm especially concerned about the physics of maintaining a high-flowrate in a 7 gallon tank. I'm assuming it needs to be a bare bottom tank. I'm still figuring out water flow, but at the moment I am planning on using a Quiet One pump (745 GPH) either split to the 7 and the 29, or going straight to the 29 with some flow draining from the 29 to the 7 down to the sump.

The 29 will be lit by a 400 watt pendant which I already have. My goal is to trade/buy small SPS frags, let them grow out in the 7 gallon, then move them to the 29 gallon as they get too large.

I've looked through the archives and members' tanks, and downloaded many nice photos of your tanks. I didn't always save the username/tank info/lighting info with the photos, and now I wish I had.

Thanks,

Adam