Innovative Marine Aquariums

Water Testing Cheat Sheet

ToXIc

hey peeps.. i'm new to reefing and i'm putting together myself a cheat sheet for testing my water..

so far this is what i've got...

NOTE: for additions and/or changes please quote the sheet's contents and input in red and i'll update the 1st post...

(Aquarium Parameters) (Reef Aquarium) (FOWLR Aquarium) (Average Level: Coral Reefs)

Specific Gravity 1.023 - 1.025 1.020 - 1.025 1.026

Temperature 72 - 78°F 72 - 78°F 82°F

pH 8.1 - 8.4 8.1 - 8.4 7.5 - 8.5

Alkalinity 8 - 12 dKH 8 - 12 dKH 7 - 11 dKH

Ammonia (NH3) Undetectable Undetectable Near Zero

Nitrite (NO2) Undetectable Undetectable Near Zero

Nitrate - Nitrogen (NO3) < 1.0 ppm < 30 ppm < 0.25 ppm

Phosphate (PO4) < 0.2 ppm < 1.0 ppm < 0.13 ppm

Calcium 350 - 450 ppm 350 - 450 ppm 380 - 420 ppm

Magnesium 1250 - 1350 ppm 1150 - 1350 ppm 1300 ppm

Iodine 0.06 - 0.10 ppm 0.04 - 0.10 ppm 0.06 ppm

Strontium 8 - 14 ppm 4 - 10 ppm 8 - 10 ppm

levels too high

Specific Gravity water changes over a period of days checking each day; add Ro/Di water

Temperature turn down heater (not off.. overnight it may get too cold); open hood; fan to blow over water surface (warning this causes extra evaporation); water chiller or diy equivalent.

pH water changes; Add a solution of calcium hydroxide. It is commonly called kalkwasser or limewater. It helps boost calcium level so ph also increases

Alkalinity

Ammonia (NH3) reduce amount of fish; siphon waste from sand and corals; water change;

Nitrite (NO2) increase bilogical filters; reduce amount of fish; siphon waste from sand and corals; water change

Nitrate - Nitrogen (NO3) water change about 25% every 7-10 days; reduce fish; purchase aquatic species that eat algae, such as Surgeons, Tangs, Rabbitfish and Filefish.

Phosphate (PO4)

Calcium

Magnesium

Iodine

Strontium

TheUnfocusedOne

Umm sure I suppose? What are you trying to accomplish exactly?